Under 21 Drinking and Driving
Were you arrested for underage DUI?
Just as underage drinking is against the law, underage drinking and driving is against the law. If you are caught driving with any measurable alcohol content and you are under the age of 21, your license will be automatically suspended and you can be charged with DUI. This is California's "zero tolerance" law per § 23136 of the California Vehicle Code.
Are you under 21 and facing drunk driving consequences? Get help from a Long Beach DUI lawyer at Gold & Witham today!
Penalties for Under 21 DUI
Penalties for drinking and driving under the age of 21 can include:
- 1 year suspension for driving with .01% BAC
- 1 year suspension and DUI school for driving with .05% BAC
- 1 year or longer suspension, fines, probation, and more for driving with .08% BAC
The penalties become more severe the greater the blood alcohol concentration. Breath, blood, and urine chemical tests can be wrong though, especially if they are not calibrated or administered properly. Consult a DUI defense attorney for more information on penalties specific to your charge.
Administrative Per Se Suspension & License Restoration
At the time of your arrest, your arresting officer will likely have taken your driver's license and issued you a temporary one. This can happen even if you only had .01% BAC. Because these machines have a margin of error larger than what it even takes to warrant an underage DUI charge, it is essential to request a DMV hearing within 10 days. This is your only chance to contest administrative per se (APS) suspension. If you do not request this hearing, your temporary license will expire in 30 days.
If your license is suspended, you must wait until you have completed the full length of your suspension before you petition for license restoration. To do this, you must pay a fee and submit proof of insurance before the DMV will give you your license back.
Long Beach DUI Attorney Representation
If you were arrested for drinking and driving under the age of 21, contact a Long Beach DUI attorney at our firm. We know how scary it can be to face license suspension and other penalties like fines, possible jail time, and DUI school. Act quickly and secure experienced representation. Call (562) 999-1965 today or fill out a free consultation form.